General Rugby News

48 players join NZ U20 IRB JWC 2013 rugby development camp

November 19th, 2012 Discuss this

2011 IRB Junior World Championship Winners - New Zealand

JWC 2013Today marks the start of New Zealand's Under 20 campaign to take the Junior World Championship in France in 2013.

Forty-eight players have been called into a week-long New Zealand Under 20 development camp in Palmerston North - the first under new New Zealand Under 20 Head Coach Chris Boyd (Wellington) and his assistants Chris Gibbes (Waikato) and Liam Barry (North Harbour).

"It's exciting to think that we have begun our work towards France next year," Boyd said. "Our main focus for this camp is to build our knowledge and understanding of the individual player abilities.

"We're looking forward to working with the boys, as they prepare themselves to contest for a spot in the squad that we take to France. We're very clear on the goal, particularly after a disappointing Final loss to South Africa this year - we want to go out there and dominate and bring back our Championship title and trophy," Boyd said.

Those selected for the camp are:


  • Sonny Ali'ifa'alogo (Waikato)
  • Scott Barrett (Canterbury)
  • Donald Brighouse (Wellington)
  • Sean Brookman (Auckland)
  • Mitchell Brown (Taranaki)
  • Adam Burn (Waikato)
  • Josh Davey (Waikato)
  • Joe Edwards (Auckland)
  • Hame Faive (Waikato)
  • Levi Guildford (Hawke's Bay)
  • Jackson Hemopo (Otago)
  • Alexander Hodgman (Canterbury)
  • Tom Hughes (Manawatu)
  • Kane Jacobson (Waikato)
  • Daniel Lienert-Brown (Canterbury)
  • Sione Mafileo (North Harbour)
  • Jordan Manihera (North Harbour)
  • Hadleigh May (Otago)
  • Kalafi Pongi (Counties Manukau)
  • Ardie Savea (Wellington)
  • Scott Scrafton (Auckland)
  • Sabastion Siataga (Canterbury)
  • John-Bosco Tagaloa (Bay of Plenty)
  • Patrick Tuipulotu (Auckland)
  • Chris Vui (Auckland)
  • Joe Walsh (Waikato)
  • Boyd Wiggins (North Harbour)


  • Tayler Adams (Southland)
  • Fomai Ah Ki (Auckland)
  • Shayne Anderson (Canterbury)
  • Michael Collins (Otago)
  • Pele Cowley (Auckland)
  • Jason Emery (Manawatu)
  • Calvary Fonoti (Auckland)
  • Faasiu Fuatai (Otago)
  • Jack Halpin (Auckland)
  • Wharenui Hawera (Waikato)
  • Simon Hickey (Auckland)
  • Penikolo Latu (Hawke's Bay)
  • Niko Malo (Waikato)
  • Rameka Paraki (Canterbury)
  • Sheridan Rangihuna (Hawke's Bay)
  • Tamati Samuels (Hawke's Bay)
  • Melani Vai (Auckland)
  • Leroy Van Dam (Auckland)
  • Lolagi Visinia (Auckland)
  • Tei Walden (Otago)
  • Joe Webber (Waikato)

The camp, in Palmerston North, concludes next Monday 26 November with further development camps to be held in March and April.

The IRB Junior World Championship will be held in France, 5 June - 23 June 2013.

Trending Rugby Topics:
  • rameka paraki
  • nz under 20 rugby team 2013
  • nz u20s 2013
  • faasiu fuatai
  • scott barrett rugby

Leave a Reply